Blender Fun


Here we mingle, introduce ourselves, our thoughts and ideas and have caring discussions.

Posts: 258

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 3:37 pm

Post Mon Dec 01, 2014 5:33 am

Blender Fun

HEy RC
Thanks for posting the blender rend
I just tried it for the first time and the result is freakin me out!
As if the verve rend wasn't mind blowing enough!
Only problem I find is getting high enough res on the displacement map.
Any suggestions how to get more detail?
I tried using displace modifier and multi res…multi res seems less demanding.
OMG TARON!@#$%^&*(
THIS IS Crazy Beautiful Stuff!
My brain hurts just thinking about where your going with this!
Thank you
Thank yuou
Thank you

heres my test with original verve output for comparison
Attachments
hieghttestrend1small2.jpg
hieghttestrend1small2.jpg (92.49 KiB) Viewed 3583 times
hieghttestrend1small.jpg
hieghttestrend1small.jpg (154.43 KiB) Viewed 3583 times
Macbook Pro
2.6 intel core i7
8 gb ram
Nvidia 650m 1gb v ram
bootcamp windows 7 premium
User avatar

Posts: 82

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:48 pm

Post Mon Dec 01, 2014 4:56 pm

Re: rcpongo's doodles

Thanks Lemivision!

Stavros: You are on the right track there. Ideally this would work best with micropoly displacement, which Blender does not have yet (Soon, once Pixar's open subD libraries get integrated,... it's coming) For now though, you just need to crank the subdivisions as high as your system can handle. I'm fortunate enough to have a 6 Gig GTX 780 that can render this all on the GPU. Even without that though, it renders just fine on the CPU, just takes a bit longer.

2 things that will help you,...First, use the Cycles renderer,... it is much better than the default render with lighting. It will calculate a full Global illumination lighting for your scene. Depending on your build, Cycles may be the default now, but you will have to learn a bit about nodes if this is new to you. Second, you can use the displacement as a bump map also. This helps the fine details show up without having to have the displacement carry all the fine details.

I'll make a sample .blend file for people to play with later. That way someone that isn't familiar with Blender can still load it up and render out a displaced image.

Posts: 258

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 3:37 pm

Post Mon Dec 01, 2014 5:29 pm

Re: rcpongo's doodles

Thanks Lemi
I would really appreciate that!
I use blender for last 5 years for my 3d illustration work
So I know the basics but I have not delved into cycles and nodes too much. I was wondering about micro poly displacement...good to hear its coming.
If you can please provide a lighting setup and displacement setup as a starter. I'm wondering if this might offer a solution for the resolution limitation of Verve at the moment. I can't create anything bigger than 2500 x2000 pix before by nvidia 650m hits the wall.
What is the max resolution you are able to save and reopen a verve file on your kick ass 780 with 6gb?
I found I could create a slightly bigger file and save it but then it would not open...I get the error message.
I really want to figure out a solution for high res because I want to print my work very large...like 72 inches wide large!
Thanks again
I loooove the soft tree line painting!
Macbook Pro
2.6 intel core i7
8 gb ram
Nvidia 650m 1gb v ram
bootcamp windows 7 premium
User avatar

Posts: 82

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:48 pm

Post Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:39 am

Re: rcpongo's doodles

This is for anyone interested in using Blender to render a 3d displaced version of their painting. You will need this file and a copy of Blender. It's free at www.blender.org

Here is a link to the file you will need. You can use this to make your own renders.
http://www.pasteall.org/blend/33154

I'm sure this may create many new questions, so feel free to ask away.

Here is what the file looks like when rendered.
Attachments
landscape06r.jpg
landscape06r.jpg (164.54 KiB) Viewed 3548 times

Posts: 258

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 3:37 pm

Post Tue Dec 02, 2014 6:23 am

Re: rcpongo's doodles

wow man
Thanks so much for the blend file
It really is a breathtaking render!!!!!!!
un freakin believable@#$%^
or totally believable rather ha lol!
This is the thing about Taron……
theres the surface,
and then there is the deep end
and Verve clearly has way more potential than we are seeing at the moment!

I tried rendering a crop of your file out at 500% and pixels are quite evident.
I see your textures are quite small so i expected it.

Heres my test with your lighting setup…and the verve render for comparison
interesting

A couple of questions…..
Why is the bump node being fed from col as opposed to mat?
and height as opposed to normal?
and
why stack 2 subs modifiers?
is it because of the 6 level limit?
Attachments
testhightmap2VERVEpng.jpg
testhightmap2VERVEpng.jpg (138.48 KiB) Viewed 3542 times
vervecyclestest1.jpg
vervecyclestest1.jpg (238.83 KiB) Viewed 3542 times
Macbook Pro
2.6 intel core i7
8 gb ram
Nvidia 650m 1gb v ram
bootcamp windows 7 premium

Posts: 258

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 3:37 pm

Post Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:47 pm

Re: rcpongo's doodles

Hey RC
YEs it is awesome that the goop and liquid can all live in the same space
as opposed to the usual…watercolour layer, dry layer etc.
Another thing thats amazing about verges images is the gradients.
Ive printed out some of my landscape water-colours and the subtle gradients are just flawless!

as for resolution…
yup
old school
bump up the canvas size till it hurts
and then crashes and burns
ok well…
usually you just get an error message
or screen turns black and things get funky
the real test is saving and reopening.
Im surprised how affordable the gtx 980 is here in Toronto Canada
goes for around $700 with 4 GB
Attachments
Verve_99U20_Inkflow5.jpg
Verve_99U20_Inkflow5.jpg (77.8 KiB) Viewed 3555 times
Macbook Pro
2.6 intel core i7
8 gb ram
Nvidia 650m 1gb v ram
bootcamp windows 7 premium
User avatar

Posts: 82

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:48 pm

Post Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:43 pm

Re: rcpongo's doodles

Yea, I'm really liking the watercolor look right now. I'm adding in a bit of paper texture after the fact, but Verve is doing all the work here. I can add the paper texture in Verve using the multiply blend mode, but overlay looks a bit cleaner, so that is what I am doing as a post-effect. (just an overlay mix of the paper texture at about 15%)

Also, just tested the 6 gig GTX 780. I can get my canvas up to around 3k before crashing. Was able to create a canvas at 4096x2048, and anything around 3000x3000. Anything higher will bomb out. Interaction was still just as fast at those resolutions, but I didn't do any extensive tests. I usually just hit Ctrl-F2 and go with that size (2560x1439)

Posts: 258

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 3:37 pm

Post Tue Dec 02, 2014 5:41 pm

Re: rcpongo's doodles

hmmmm
interesting to note that my modest 4 year old nvidia 650m with 1 gb on macbook running bootcamp
can run verve at 2560x1439 flawlessly fast with multiple layers, uber giant brushes and full fluids!
and the 780 is only marginally better ? curious. but also good to know in way…since it suggest that verve is actually quite efficient
and the res wall is another specific issue.
Macbook Pro
2.6 intel core i7
8 gb ram
Nvidia 650m 1gb v ram
bootcamp windows 7 premium
User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 4780

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:38 pm

Post Tue Dec 02, 2014 6:11 pm

Re: rcpongo's doodles

rcpongo, let me know, if you want me to move this entire conversation to a more appropriate place than your gallery thread! :ugeek:
Mike, yep, plenty of life!!! ;)
Here to help! :D
http://www.taron.de
System Info: NVidia Gforce GTX 970, 2x 8core Xeon (2.67 Ghz), Windows 7
User avatar

Posts: 82

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:48 pm

Post Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:35 pm

Re: rcpongo's doodles

Taron, if it's not too much trouble, I wouldn't mind getting this back to gallery mode. That might make the info easier for someone to find later too.
Next

Return to Community [feedback, bug reports, discussions, etc...]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software