What do you paint with?

Here we mingle, introduce ourselves, our thoughts and ideas and have caring discussions.

Post Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:32 pm

What do you paint with?

Almost everyone here seems to be artists or so, and you certainly use some high end drawing equipment. Now I am a total newbie, but somehow I can already see that Verve could be a start of a new hobby for me. But I just don't have much money to spend on the hardware. I mean, I have a decent PC, but what I'm looking for is something else to draw with than the mouse.

So, I guess a simple question would be in place: what do you draw with and was it expensive? :) A specific tablet, a touchpad, something else?
For example, would this do for a hobbyist who is just learning and having fun?
http://www.amazon.com/Wacom-Intuos-Small-Tablet-CTL480/dp/B00EN27TCI/ref=dp_ob_title_ce

Site Admin

Post Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:07 pm

Re: What do you paint with?

I believe that would do just fine!
I personally have a "semi-old" Wacom intuos3. It has always done a good job and still is all I have, spilled coffee into it by one of my cats and all... :P
I wonder, if you could find a used one of that type?! Shouldn't be expensive eiher. It's A4 and therefore quite a bit bigger than the small one, which you will appreciate very quickly.

But, either way, any Wacom is better than a mouse!
Here to help! :D
System Info: AMD Radeon RX Vega 10, AMD Ryzen 7 (2.3 Ghz), Windows 11
Taron.de | Twitter | Pinterest | YouTube

Post Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:09 pm

Yes I did notice the effective drawing area on the Intuos I linked is extremely small...I know I could get started with it just fine, but I'm thinking I might start craving the good old A4 size pretty soon...thanks for the tip for the Intuos 3 A4, Taron. Seems a bit harder to get hold of a used one...I'm living in FInland so I guess it would have to come from inside the EU for the sake of customs, postage etc.

And then there's this; the big brother of the previous one.